top of page

2023 EBL Conference Scheduled Feb. 11

To register for the free and virtual Eastern Buddhist League conference on Feb. 11, go to: https://bit.ly/EBL2023registration.


The virtual 2023 Eastern Buddhist League (EBL) conference will be held on Feb. 11 with the theme of “Nembutsu as Living.”


The conference, which is free and on Zoom, will begin at 11 a.m. EST (10 a.m. CST and 8 a.m. PST) and begin with a Dharma talk by Rev. Kurt Rye of Ekoji Buddhist Temple.


This will be followed by a presentation with a question-and-answer session by Rev. Dr. David Matsumoto, President of the Institute of Buddhist Studies.


The theme “Nembutsu as Living” is a phrase taken from the book “Heart of the Shin Buddhist Path: A Life of Awakening” by Rev. Dr. Takamaro Shigaraki and translated by Rev. Dr. Matsumoto.


Rev. Dr. Shigaraki reminds us that “this path is the nembutsu of everyday life — the nembutsu as living — that Shinran teaches us.”

The Eastern Buddhist League consists of Jodo Shinshu temples and Sanghas in the eastern part of North America. Because of the considerable distance between temples, it has been a way to share resources and stay connected.


The EBL has a long history beginning as the EYBL with its first meeting in 1946. The photo in the flyer on this page shows the 1947 gathering in New York City.


130 views

Komentáře


bottom of page